The Fashion Awards

Notable Fashion Awards Winners Throughout the Years

Notable Fashion Awards Winners Throughout the Years

On the eve of the Fashion Awards, which is set to return to London’s Royal Albert Hall on Monday night, WWD looks back at some of the most notable winners throughout the years:

Bottega Veneta former creative director Daniel Lee
Courtesy Photo

Daniel Lee, former creative director at Bottega Veneta, set a new record by bagging four major awards at the Fashion Awards in 2019: Brand of the Year, Accessories Designer, British Women’s Wear Designer, and Designer of the Year. He was also nominated for this year’s Designer of the Year Award. Now that he’s no longer working for Bottega, it’s unclear whether he will attend this year’s event.

Marco Bizzarri
Lexie Moreland/WWD

Gucci chief executive officer Marco Bizzarri, who has been credited for successfully reviving the brand alongside creative director Alessandro Michele, took home the business leader award three times in a row from 2016 to 2018. This year, though, it will be Michele who steps into the spotlight, receiving the Trailblazer Award.

Related Galleries

The British Fashion Council noted that, in the past year, Michele has made strides: He presented Gucci’s Aria and Love Parade collections, launched Vault by Gucci, and opened the Gucci Garden Archetypes exhibit and the Gucci Archive in Florence. The BFC said he continues “to expand the scope of what a traditional luxury fashion brand should be.”

Jonathan Anderson
James Mason

Loewe creative director and JW Anderson founder Jonathan Anderson has been a Fashion Awards darling since he won the Emerging Talent award for ready-to-wear back in 2012.
In 2017 and 2015, he took home major awards including Accessories Designer of the year and British Designer of the Year, Women’s Wear. This year, he is nominated for the Designer of the Year award.

Christopher Bailey
PA Wire/PA Images

Christopher Bailey, the former creative director of Burberry, won a total of six awards at the Fashion Awards between 2005 to 2015, including an Outstanding Contribution to British Fashion award, three Men’s Wear Designer of the Year awards, and two Designer of the Year awards.

Kim Jones
Courtesy of Fendi

Kim Jones, Dior’s artistic director of men’s wear and Fendi’s artistic director of haute couture, ready-to-wear and fur collections for women, is another regular at the Fashion Awards. Since taking home the Men’s Wear designer award in 2006, he has received a total of five awards, in recognition of his outstanding work at Dunhill, Louis Vuitton and Dior Men. In 2018 he was given the inaugural Trailblazer Award.
This year, he is once again nominated for the Designer of the Year award.

Stella McCartney
Lexie Moreland/WWD

Stella McCartney has won a total of eight awards over the years. She first took home the Glamour designer award in 2000, and most recently was the recipient of the Special Recognition award for innovation in 2017.

Alexander McQueen

The late Lee Alexander McQueen dominated the Fashion Awards between 1996 to 2004. He was named Designer of the Year four times, in 1996, 1997, 2001 and 2003. Under creative director Sarah Burton, the brand has won an additional three awards in recent years. 

John Galliano

John Galliano was another Fashion Awards favorite back in the day. He also took home the Designer of the Year award four times, in 1987, 1994, 1995, and 1997, in which he shared the title with Alexander McQueen. In 2009, he was honored with the BFC Outstanding Achievement in Fashion award.

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :